Kota Marudu Member of Parliament

PBS eyes five out of 13 new Sabah state seats

KOTA KINABALU, Sept 15 — Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS) has staked a claim to five out of 13 new state seats in the latest redelineation exercise announced by the Election Commission (EC) today. 

Ongkili said the party was also aiming to win back all the seats it lost in the 2013 state and general elections. — Picture by Yusof Mat Isa

Executive deputy president Datuk Dr Maximus Johnity Ongkili said PBS was willing to reach a compromise according to the Barisan Nasional (BN) coalition’s power-sharing formula but insisted that it deserved “at least five seats” as befits its position as the second-largest party in the north Borneo state.

“After looking at the new seat divisions, by right PBS should be able to get all the seats because we are a multiracial party, and that is our strength.  But realistically, we have to share fairly among the BN.

“Out of the 13 seats, we should get at least five,” he said told Malay Mail Online.

Earlier today, the EC unveiled its proposal to create 13 new seats in the Sabah legislative assembly, bringing the total to 73.

The new seats in Sabah are: N.02 Bengkoka in the parliamentary constituency of Kudat , N.06 Mengaris in Kota Marudu, N.08 Pintasan in Kota Belud, N.13 Pantai Dalit in Tuaran, N.17 Darau in Sepanggar, N.24 Tanjung Dumpil in Putatan, N.27 Dampai in Papar, N.44 Tulid in Pensiangan, N.47 Telupid in Beluran, N.51 Sungai Manila in Libaran, N.58 Lamag in Kinabatangan, N.61 Segama in Silam, and N.70 Kukusan in Kalabakan.

The seats are still up for review depending on public feedback.

Ongkili said that the coalition should not just look at allocating the seats to just any component but to field “winnable candidates” suited for the area.

“If it’s a non-Muslim majority area, we should be the first consideration. We are the second largest party in Sabah, with Muslim, Kadazandusun and Chinese representatives in all districts,” he said.

Ongkili said the party was also aiming to win back all the seats it lost in the 2013 state and general elections.

PBS lost Matunggong, Api Api, Tamparuli, Sri Tanjung and Kadamaian state seats and the Kota Kinabalu parliamentary seat in the polls three years ago.

Sabah BN chairman Datuk Seri Musa Aman was previously reported as saying they would only start discussing seat allocations after they were finalised by the EC and passed in Parliament.

State component parties previously urged for even distribution among the state BN components and want the 13 new seats to be given to local-based parties.

Source : TheMalayMail